Meet the Characters

4298177937_e2c8d93725In any story about my life, my girl B.A.B.S. will feature very prominently! She and I are two peas in a pod! We’re one of a kind! (wait… never mind) We have always inspired each other to greater levels of insanity and without her I would most likely be a very boring, lonely person, with an invisible cat (no really, her name was Tilly)! So, how did I meet such a person? I’m glad you asked!

I was born in 1986 deep in the jungles of Papua New Guinea, to two missionaries who were very much in love. But, that’s not what this story is about. I was born in a doctors office becuase there was no room for me in the… hospital (what did you think I was gonna say?) And because of the time change between there and Texas (where the rest of my family lived) my grandparents were able to proudly call up their friends and tell them all about their beautiful granddaughter born 6 lbs, 8 oz at 8.50 am… tomorrow morning.

When I was three I crawled into the monkey cage at the zoo and my parents have since confided in me that they’ve never been quite certain that they got back the right baby! But that’s not where this story actually begins. When we moved to the states we lived in a very old house, the kind of house that tells stories, holds secrets, and can take you on grand adventures. And there, along with my three best friends (my sister, the mulberry tree out front, and my invisible cat – and you thought I was teasing about that) my imagination was allowed to soar.

When I was Twelve I met a very strange little girl. She had crazy blond hair that she’d cut herself, a crooked grin, and a mischevious twinkle in both eyes. She had a huge family and just a hint of the trickster in her blood line. A very strange little girl indeed. We became fast friends that afternoon, partners in crime, accomplices, authors of each others adventures. And there in lies the tale.

We explored life like two kids with nothing to lose, we went on adventure after adventure and never lost our curiosity, She was the wild child who always acted before thinking and I was the awkward duck who overanalyzed everything. In those years following we made friends, lost loved ones, and learned hard lessons but we weren’t done growing up quite yet. Then, as with all great fairy tales, there was a magical transformation. When we were eighteen the tom boy turned into an enchanting goddess and the ugly duckling? Well, I earned the nickname Perky and that’s where the story REALLY begins…

Leave a Reply

