Orlando

a623e47c0f18ce03f08007a553bfc864

In the light of the recent, tragic, shocking, and heartbreaking events in Orlando I find myself reeling. When my girlfriends and I went out dancing in our early 20s we would usually patronize gay clubs. They were our safe haven in the world of nightclubs. A place that welcomed all regardless of religion, race, gender, or sexual preference. A place where you could be your weird self with pride, where I could safely dance with my girlfriends without strangers either leering or joining in unasked. A place nearly completely devoid of judgment, beyond the cattiness one should expect when one wears clothes out of style.

In this time of mourning, the day after 49 lives were needlessly ended, one thing rings true more than any other… We need more gun education. We need more gun knowledge. We need more self-defense classes. We need to stop leaving our fate in the hands of help that may never come. I want to be very clear – I am in no way implying that those who were killed or injured should have or could have done anything different. I wasn’t there, I don’t know what happened and I can’t imagine the terror they felt. I’m sure I would have done no different if I was there.

What am I saying? I’m saying that we can’t let this happen again. I’m saying that gun control isn’t working. If a man wants to kill, he won’t be impeded by legal measures. We need to stop fearing guns and start to realize that sometimes you have to fight fire with fire. The threat of violence is rising daily. These are not isolated events and it’s not going to get better if we make it impossible for people to protect themselves. When this happens in your town, in your neighborhood, on your street, will you be ready? We need to stop sitting on the couch becoming numb to these senseless acts and relying on politicians to save us. We need to get up and take control. Our lives are in our hands, are we prepared to save ourselves and those we love?

tl;dr version: I’m sad. Mindless violence is bad but guns aren’t.

I’m still too raw and I’m not looking for a debate. I understand that my opinions may not be yours and I respect that so please respect me. But I hope you don’t mind that if the need arises and if I’m able I will be using a gun to help save your life.

Leave a Reply

